The Lessons So Far . . .

Posted on May 5, 2011

1


Ok, what have I learned so far?

That aging does not necessarily entail wisdom. You may get older and older, and still maintain your nasty thoughts and annoying behavior. Wisdom comes with experiences plus a willingness to reflect on them and to introspect on yourself, and change the way you think and behave. You may even have to go as far as hating the wicked part of yourself in order to grow into a better person, even at your thirty something or forty something.

That self control is really really a crucial matter, especially if you are a sensitive, irritable person who easily snaps on trivial disturbances. A one-minute restrain on your anger may spare you from a ten-year trouble, goes a Chinese saying. Very good! I keep it in mind as a guiding light.

That I will never know what love is until I know and practice forgiving the persons I claim to love. This is easier said than done, and I have to remind myself to forgive them, a hundred times every day, for simple acts that I wrongly take as offence.

That God never promises us happy and smooth ride in this life. What He promises are, if we follow His words, strength and courage to conquer challenges, and the ability to rise again every time we fall stricken by life hardships.

Posted in: Uncategorized