My Way

Posted on February 17, 2011

0


I have a unique way of doing things at office. If you think that I fixate 100 percent of my concentration on my work, you are not wrong, but never think that I will do that continuously. My mind is like an F1 car running at the speed of 320 km per hour on the track, but not long after that, the engine gets overheated. I have to hit the brake and slow down drastically.

Now, that’s what always happens when I I’m in the middle of my work in a busy morning. I concentrate very hard on whatever task is in hands, but then I soon hit the wall: my mind gets stuck, no more ideas coming. Instead of burning out my brain by pushing it relentlessly to think more and more, I switch to another activity that will cool down my brain: Facebooking, checking out my blog to see if there is any coming or more visitors, watching good clips on YouTube, perusing the Google reader for updated news, or simply drafting a posting to be published on my blog.

So, this seemingly bizarre act may surprise my colleague sitting next to me. She may steal a glance at my screen and wonder why the Facebook front page is over there when I am supposed to be thinking of a very important plan or working on document to be finished by the end of the day!

But I guess if you know how your mind works, you will know that working does not necessarily mean constant, uninterrupted brain-racking concentration on your task. If you get stuck, the harder you think, the more you feel frustrated because you simply cannot get any more ideas. The only way out of this stumbling block is to shift your thoughts to another more relaxing activity. You will let your mind wander there for while, letting the arduous task linger faintly in your mind, and waiting for a sudden bright idea or simply a sudden jolt of energized mind to go to back to your work. This is what I call the “A-ha” moment.

Believe it or not, I have been doing it for many, many years. With the good results that I successfully produce most of the time, I’d never worry about that dashing-and-stopping style of thinking.

Posted in: Uncategorized