Shrapnel jam 14.00 hari Jumat

Posted on December 10, 2010

4


Shrapnel. Tau artinya? Shrapnel artinya ‘pecahan granat’. Nah, posting2 berikut ini adalah pecahan granat yang terlontar begitu saja atau saya dapatkan begitu saja setelah makan siang hari ini:

Ini saya tulis begitu saja menanggapi posting FB nya mahasiswa saya. Dia menulis tentang cinta: betapa manusia jatuh bangun dalam urusan ini. Entah karena sudah jenuh mendengar topik yang satu ini, saya begitu saja menulis di commentnya:

“No human is intelligent enough to know what love is. Only God does. Humans love miserably, groping around and grasping desperately for that elusive concept. Love does not exist in our universe.”

Mau tahu jawaban mahasiswi saya itu? Cari aja deh sendiri namanya di FB: Shanty Arisa.

Terus yang ini saya dapat dari baca-baca di Twitter (twitter saya itu nggak laris blas tapi emang saya pikirin, karena saya melanggan beberapa situs yang benar-benar mencerahkan.) Yang ini soal meditasi:

“The practice of meditation is very simple: one must only quiet the mind without falling asleep. What’s so hard about that? It doesn’t seem complicated. In theory, it is easy, but in application, most people have difficulty quieting the mind. The well-known teacher Eckhart Tolle describes modern civilization as being made up of “compulsive thinkers.” We can’t seem to stop thinking even when we want to. Many resort to sleeping pills to stop the thinking because they’re exhausted and need sleep but can’t quiet the incessant chatter that haunts their tired brains. Could quieting the mind be so easy that it’s difficult?

“Why would I want to quiet my mind?” You might wonder. “Thought is everything to me. The more I think, the smarter I become, and intelligence leads to happiness and fulfillment.” This is true if you are using your mind. But what if your mind is using you? Quieting it in a meditation practice won’t make you less intelligent. On the contrary, it will help you to access, use and enjoy your intelligence.”

Membuat pikiran berhenti? Bisa nggak Anda? Kalau bisa saya bayar berapapun yang Anda minta! Kutipan di atas memutar balikkan semua yang kita percaya: bahwa dengan berhenti berpikir dan pasrah kepada sang kosmos ini, pikiran malah jadi tenang, mengalir begitu saja. Yang stress jadi merasa lebih ringan, yang kalut merasa tercerahkan, dan ujung-ujungnya pada ketenangan yang tidak jarang membawa inspirasi untuk mencari jalan keluar dari stress dan depresi tersebut.

Masih dari artikel yang sama, yang di bawah ini menyadarkan saya bahwa saya tidak sendirian menghuni badan dan pikiran saya ini:

“In meditation, by quieting the mind, the servant is put in the back seat, and the master is empowered. Are you aware that there’s another part of yourself beyond your mind? There are lots of words to describe this aspect of a human being. My favorite word is “soul.” You can also say “creative aspect” or “higher self.” When one meditates, one exists — for just a few minutes — as that soul-aspect.”

THE SOUL!

Posted in: Uncategorized