Zodiac Love Compatibility

Posted on July 28, 2010

7


It’s been for a while that I haven’t posted anything written in English. My once popular blog at patrisiusdjiwandono.blogspot is now dead, buried alive by the popularity of this machungaiwo blog. I realize that I’ve been writing in Indonesia for machungaiwo simply because I crave popularity. If I write in Bahasa Indonesia, people flock to read my postings, and the more people read it, the happier I am. What a shame!

So here I am back again bringing up something written in English. I know this will be a big turn off for many of my readers whose English is still poor. But I don’t really care. This time I am writing for myself.

There is a simple question I saw on Yahoo.com that has been lingering in my mind: do you believe in astrology?

Brought up as a Catholic in a very pious environment , I did not even dare to think about astrology. “It’s a sin to believe in such thing,” a priest once told me. “It’s simply Satan in disguise.”

My Yahoo page contains a forecast for Pisces (that’s my zodiac sign, pronounced “Pai-siz”). To my surprise, many times the forecast that pops up on that section turns out to be very scarily accurate for me! I am really stunned to see how the lines there predict almost everything about me on a particular day: my mood, my relationship with people, my chances of success, my desire . . . And they are all correct!

There is no doubt that the forecast is written by another human being, the so-called psychic, or even automatically generated by a computer after some ingenious algorithm is fed into it. But how come it acts as if it had known me for many many years?

Coincidence?

Wishful thinking?

or a blessing in disguise?

It drives me nuts to figure out the answer. So I simply sit back every morning, reading the Pisces forecast that pops up on my Yahoo page, and find out that my life on that day simply unfolds the way it predicts.

Once I tried to fool it: rather than reading the Yahoo page first thing in the morning, I read CNN and other equally interesting sites, and then proceeded with my life, meeting people, doing my job, solving problems and stuff. Later in the evening as I prepared to go home, I turned to the Yahoo page to see if the Pisces forecast matched my life that day, and . . . D-A-M-N, yes it did!

Until yesterday there was a moment of relief for me. I explored the page further, and came across a page entitled “Pisces and Love Compatibility”. I read it, and the contents forced a smile on my lips. A-haa, now I could see how nonsense it was! Here is what it said:

“Pisces and Scorpio is a match made in Heaven. They both understand each other to a very deep spiritual level. Pisces ‘s strong intuition and imagination is balanced by Scorpio’s sensitive, albeit possessive, nature. On a scale of 1 to 5, the pair scores 5.”

(“Mmm, maybe not that sweet,” I said in response. “True, a few Scorpio women I used to encounter were gorgeously loving and caring and understanding, but the fact is, we were never meant for each other”)

“Pisces and Sagittarius can have a rocky relations. Sometimes Sagittarius unintentionally hurts the fragile Pisces with his/her spontaneity, but she / he never actually means to hurt. On a scale of 1 to 5, this pair scores 2!”

(“I don’t know about this one, . . .” I mused)

“Pisces and Pisces basically understand each other, and they can make a very sweet relationship. But, since they are of the same nature, there are difficult times when they seem imprisoned in their imagination and in ways of expressing things that do not solve the problems they are facing. On a scale of 1 to 5, they score 4”.

(I smiled silently. “This is weird. I have a few Pisces acquaintances and students, and may be because we vibrate on the same frequency of mood and inner thoughts, I find they are so . . . readable. The way they express their inner feelings and the swaying of their mood are very much like mine. )

So, now, do I still believe in astrology?

Posted in: Uncategorized